Unsure of proper model to use

Forum for discussion of general questions related to study design and/or analysis of existing data - software neutral.

Unsure of proper model to use

Postby sarah1795 » Wed Apr 24, 2019 4:13 pm

My apologies for this being such a basic question but I greatly appreciate any insight, guidance, or suggestions.

I sampled 2 sites over a 6 month period and have my time interval set to days. I coded my capture histories are by the individual animal and I used dot notation '.' for the times when I was the opposite site from the individual.

Site 1
Animal A ...010

Site 2
Animal B 010...

I'm interested in estimating abundance of animals at these two sites, using RMark, and I'm having trouble finding the best model to do this in that allows for dot notation - Jolly, Burnham, Robust, etc give errors that ch can only contain '01'. I am very new to modeling and have been reading through the Gentle Introduction, sifting through literature, and emailing most of my department... from this I'm thinking perhaps POPAN or JS model but I'm not if my data is correct for them. I'm not sure how to define N properly within RMark to get POPAN to run without error. I can run CJS without R spitting out an error but I'm not sure how to go from there to abundance.

A brief-ish description of my study for background:
Live trapped and ear tagged 11 species (4 species with over 10 individuals) of small mammals at 2 sites ~100 miles apart. Trapping grid was 200 Sherman traps 10m apart, roughly square. Sampled each site 6 consecutive days per month May-October. Recorded species, ear tag #, body length, weight, age class (adult/juv), sex (except shrews), and tick burden.
sarah1795

Re: Unsure of proper model to use

Postby murray.efford » Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:01 pm