assumptions made when binning age classes

posts related to the RMark library, which may not be of general interest to users of 'classic' MARK

assumptions made when binning age classes

Postby 11arc4 » Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:56 pm

Hi all,

I'm somewhat new to MARK and RMark and I have a question about the assumptions MARK makes in determining survival when ages are grouped.

I have two age classes of birds that are morphologically distinct (1yr, and 2+yrs). We regularly catch birds first when they are 2+year olds. I'm wondering if my analysis is assuming birds that were caught first as 2+ were 1 the previous year and using those birds to determine 1yr old survival, or if only birds caught first as 1yr old are used to determine 1yr old survival? I would prefer the latter as I am uncomfortable with the assumptions necessary for the former.

My RMark code is as follows:

Code: Select all
tsprocess <-process.data(datMark_F2,model="CJS",
                         begin.time=1990,
                         groups= ("age"),
                         initial.ages =c(1, 2))

ts.ddl <- make.design.data(tsprocess, parameters=list(Phi=list(age.bins=c(1, 1.5, 29)),
                                                     p=list(age.bins=c(1,1.5, 29))))
levels(ts.ddl$Phi$age)<- c("SY", "ASY")
levels(ts.ddl$p$age)<- c("SY", "ASY")

p.dot <- list(formula= ~1)
p.time <- list(formula= ~time)
Phi.dot <- list(formula=~1)
Phi.age <- list(formula=~age)

cml <- create.model.list("CJS")
female.results <- mark.wrapper(cml, data=tsprocess, ddl=ts.ddl, output=F, adjust=F)

Thank you very much for any and all assistance!
11arc4

Re: assumptions made when binning age classes

Postby jlaake » Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:18 pm