Command-Line Analyses

announcements (new versions, changes, bugs, installation problems...) related to program MARK

Command-Line Analyses

Postby lscopel » Fri Jun 18, 2021 4:17 pm

Hello,

This approach may sound rather odd, which I am aware of, so apologies for that. I am a very late-stage PhD student running a set of multistate models (8-10 states, ~15k individuals) on an ok pair of PCs. I have discovered that my data likely have local minima, and they won't converge unless I use the simulated annealing algorithm. My models take anywhere from 12 hours to 3 days to run, and when the individual covariates are included they can run twice as long. I have fortunately discovered that my university offers access to a high-speed computing array, and I can upload my data to run on their servers. Unfortunately, all of their machines run Linux, and given that I have been running all my models thus far in the GUI-based Windows program, the solution we have reached thus far is for me to save my model in the GUI, then upload and run the .tmp output from my saved model using the command-line interface that calls mark.exe in Linux. (I realize it would be much more straightforward to call mark.exe using R, but I am much more comfortable using the DM in the GUI, which is how I got to this point.)