trouble pasting from Excel

announcements (new versions, changes, bugs, installation problems...) related to program PRESENCE

trouble pasting from Excel

Postby jhines » Thu Apr 09, 2015 10:36 pm

I'm posting this here in case anyone else runs into this problem. A user was unable to paste data into the PRESENCE input form after copying from Excel. The problem seemed to be related to other software running at the time. The solution was to close all other applications, and the application which seemed to be causing the problem was either Internet Explorer, or Firefox. I don't know why these applications would interfere with the clipboard, but closing them seems to solve the problem.

Jim
jhines

Re: trouble pasting from Excel

Postby lrohrbaugh » Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:05 pm

I’ve been using PRESENCE for a few years, and I am not sure why I am now having this issue. I got a new computer and re-downloaded the program and now when I go to enter my covariate data, I am having an issue. For example, my first covariate is a type of lure I use and I am cutting and pasting out of Excel the data. However, I usually copy that column out of each survey and paste it into that tab, but when I go to do that this time, it changes the columns from 8 to 1 and asks me to rename the covariate. I am trying to avoid re-organizing everything in Excel or having to enter everything into PRESENCE manually.

Thank you for your help.
lrohrbaugh

Postby cooch » Wed Oct 28, 2015 2:12 pm