data file seems to change when I try and run a model

announcements (new versions, changes, bugs, installation problems...) related to program PRESENCE

data file seems to change when I try and run a model

Postby KerryK » Sun Jul 27, 2014 9:39 am

Hello

I'm completely new to PRESENCE so I know I must be doing something very wrong but I can't work out what.

Last week, I worked through all the examples etc and started playing around with my own data, all was fine. Then today something strange is starting to occur. I have 235 rows of data in 8 columns, once I have pasted all the data in and saved it etc it all looks fine, but when I run the model and look at the output it was telling me there was only 80 rows and 6 columns, so I doubled checked the data file and sure enough there was no longer 235 rows. I tried saving the data under different names and only using 4 columns instead of 8, but the same thing keeps happening..... what am I doing wrong??

Thanks

Kerry
KerryK

Re: data file seems to change when I try and run a model

Postby darryl » Sun Jul 27, 2014 5:46 pm

Have you checked for an invalid character in the data file, like a space? Valid characters for your data file are numbers, "." and "-" (without quotes). It probably happens at around the point where your data gets cutoff.

Also, check the command window of PRESENCE (the black-box, non-GUI, DOS-like window) and see if there are any errors or warnings displayed there.

Cheers
Darryl
darryl

Postby KerryK » Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:28 am

Thanks Darryl

Thanks for your reply. I couldn't see any obvious errors in the command window. Upon closer inspection, it seemed to be occurring when I was trying to run the multi method model "psi, theta(t),p(.)", but not if I changed the model to "psi, theta(t), p(method)" but I think I have managed to resolve the issue by opening a csv file in PRESENCE instead of copying and pasting from excel.... not sure why it was occurring though...??