Multi-Season Analysis - zero detection in first season

questions concerning analysis/theory using program PRESENCE

Multi-Season Analysis - zero detection in first season

Postby leyla » Thu Oct 13, 2016 4:25 pm

I am new to PRESENCE and occupancy modeling and am still trying to learn this method. I have a question regarding multi-season analysis.

I have 40 sites that has been surveyed in 2 seasons, 10 and 14 survey occasions in season 1 and 2, respectively. I've used simple multi-season analysis (model parameterization: Seasonal occupancy and colonization, detection). However, I have a case that no animal was detected in any of the survey occasions during the first season, and therefor I get unreliable estimates as large as 1 or very close to 1, and of course detection probabilities of less than the critical value (<0.15).
Could anyone tell me please which parameterization of multi-season analysis should I use for cases that there are 0 detections in one season (which leads to unreliable detection probabilities)?
Or is applying mutli-season analysis appropriate for these cases?

Your opinions are much appreciated in advance.

Thank you.
leyla

Re: Multi-Season Analysis - zero detection in first season

Postby jhines » Thu Oct 13, 2016 4:42 pm

If you have no detections for one season, then it is impossible to differentiate the case where occupancy is zero vs the case where some sites are occupied and all detection probs are zero. So, you have 2 choices: 1) run the single-season model on the season which has detection data, and 2) assume detection probs are the same across both seasons and run a multi-season model. If the multi-season model can get the detection probs from the season with data and apply those detection probs to the season without data, then it might be able to estimate occupancy for both seasons. I suspect that with only 40 sites and low detection probs, you'll have to go with option 1.
jhines

Postby leyla » Sun Oct 16, 2016 8:31 pm